The Biscuit Block is a four-storey warehouse building constructed in 1912 that has been adapted for office use. Our design added 7,481 square feet to the building in the form of two additional floors and a new entrance lobby, bringing the total floor area to approximately 55,000 square feet.
- Degraded masonry lintels and apron were restored with sandstone matched to the original; brick was cleaned and repointed.
- New windows at grade along the north elevation were designed to match existing roundhead windows along the east elevation; brick was reused from other locations in the building to create the arched openings.
- Original timber posts in the basement were suffering from rot and were reinforced; original timbers and masonry walls are exposed throughout the building interior.
- Badly degraded brick was selectively covered with protective aluminum rainscreen panelling.
- The fifth and sixth storeys step back from the original façade, allowing room for a glass-railed deck behind the parapet of the existing roof.
- The new addition makes use of a contemporary vocabulary to create a visual contrast distinguishing periods in the building’s century-long history.
- A new cantilever roof extends over this deck to align with the original façade, and includes punch-outs bringing daylight to upper floors.
- Honourable Mention - New Design, 2014 Calgary Heritage Authority Lion Awards
- Honourable Mention - Restoration, 2015 Alberta Masonry Council Awards